KIIRA Power Station formerly known as Owen Falls Extension is a hydroelectric power station with an installed capacity of 200MW. It is located in Kimaka, Jinja District in Eastern Central Uganda.

In 1993 work started on the Owen Falls Extension Project just next to the existing Nalubaale Power Station. The works involved cutting a canal on the right bank of Nalubaale Power Station reservoir to guide water into the five fixed blade Kaplan turbines. The first two units each rated 40MW were commissioned by H.E President Yoweri K. Museveni on the 19th May 2000 naming the station KIIRA Power Station. Subsequently, the third unit was commissioned in 2003 and the last two units came on-line in 2007 bringing the total installed capacity of 200MW.



Current Status

Currently, the power station is operated and maintained by Eskom Uganda Limited. 1st of April 2003, UEGCL awarded a 20 year concession to Eskom Uganda Limited to operate and maintain the power station. UEGCL however, monitors and supervises the operations and maintenance of the concessionaire ESKOM Uganda Limited and carries out annual inspections for the power station.

Friend: loi bai hat,solar movie,games for girls,